Kandy
Kandy Sisya
Project Officer

Kandy Sisya

I am a project officer at Renaisi, working in the Research and Consultancy team. In the coming months, I will be working on a range of projects including Power to Change’s More Than a Pub, City Bridge Trusts’ Resilience Risk and DCMS’ Innovation in Democracy evaluation. 

My experience and skills

I hold a Bachelor of Science in Psychology from the University of Liverpool, and in December I will graduate from the University of Liverpool with a Master of Science in Investigative and Forensic Psychology.

I am an experienced researcher and data analyst. For my MSc. dissertation, I conducted an exploratory evaluation of an interviewing procedure using interviews and surveys to collect the data. Alongside my studies, I also have a range of experience working on different projects such as working as a researcher, writing an extensive literature review on stress, and later as a research assistant for specialist rapport-based interview training.

I have a specific interest in community development, sustainability, migration and integration.

Before joining Renaisi in July 2019, I was selected to participate on the DfID funded International Citizen Service placement to Nepal with an international development charity. I was part of a team with a mix of British and Nepali volunteers and living with a host family in a small community in the Gorkha district. I worked in partnership with community members to implement a sustainable livelihoods programme and develop modern farming skills and infrastructure. Prior to this, I acted as a facilitator on the National Citizen Service programme for 15 to 17-year olds, the programme leads to the development of a community-based social action project.

During my studies, I have spent time volunteering at the YMCA’s controlled drinking environment where I developed my understanding of harm reduction and social exclusion in vulnerable people with alcohol and drug dependency. I have also worked in acute mental health services for adolescents and adults.

My interests

I have recently moved to London and I am enjoying exploring my local community. Outside of work, I love to spend time with my friends and family. I enjoy cooking and I am always keen on trying out new recipes.